2013 in 10 pictures

That’s it, 2013 is coming to an end, the new year is around the corner. As much as I really wanted to do a post about our year, it is difficult to do so when you have been travelling for only three months.

Leaving has been an amazing decision and I don’t regret any moments. Everyone around us has been understanding and supported us in our choice. And for that I am thankful to have such an amazing family (Mine and Robb’s family too, you guys are really awesome!) and great friends. But I won’t bother you with all that guys. Instead I made a little selection of 10 pictures of our year 2013.

If there is one way I enjoy expressing myself it is through photography and they will probably sum up everything for me!

1 – Roche Abbey – South Yorkshire – UK

IMG_4651

Not so far from where we lived in the UK is Roche Abbey. After an impulsive buy of an amazing lens I had to try it so I begged my poor Robb to go there and test it. The way with no transportation was not easy but we got there. I love old ruins and England does have a lot of them! This picture is also my first try in B&W.

2- Fields of gold – Wath Upon Dearne – UK

IMG_4607

Not far from the house that we sold was this field where we use to walk quite often. The gold of the corn, the blue of the sky, it just sometimes makes you realise that beauty can be find everywhere. And the title of the picture? Because I love Sting of course!

3 – Roc La Tour – Ardennes – France

IMG_4794

This place is my place. My little heaven. It’s not much but it means a lot to me. The memories, the forest, the rocks I use to climb with my dad when I was a kid. The legend of Roc La Tour stays with me anywhere I go. I took this picture when we arrived in France to see my family before our flight to Vietnam.

4 – Praying at the Jade Emperor Pagoda – HCMC – Vietnam

IMG_4883

You probably wonder why I like this picture enough to put it in my top 10. Well I always loved temples, all the spirituality. Even if I’m not a big believer those place do something for me, they make me feel safe somehow. As we were walking in Saigon that I didn’t like so much this temple suddenly made me feel alright and ready for our big trip.

5- Lin Phuoc Pagoda – Dalat – Vietnam

IMG_5120

Dalat is a great town when you explore its surroundings. As much as I enjoyed all those waterfalls and the nature this pagoda stays my favourite. A dragon, so many colours, what is there to not like about it?

6 – Fishermen – Hoi An – Vietnam

Untitled-1

Yeah I think this is probably one of my favourite, easily. When I started shooting this guy throwing his net on the water I didn’t think much of it. To be honest the colours were awful and didn’t help much to the all atmosphere. And then I tried B&W and then… then it made sense.

7 – Paradise Cave – Phong Nha National Park – Vietnam

IMG_7526 no logo

8 – Off to work – Hanoï – Vietnam

IMG_7851 copy

Conic hats, people carrying bananas, it’s fairly usual in Vietnam. On this occasion the settings worked out well enough to gather some of Hanoï’s spirit in this one picture. One of the rare occasion when the road is actually empty…

9- Sunset – Cat Ba Island – Vietnam

IMG_8761

10 – Woman and the pups – Bac Ha – Vietnam

IMG_8904

And finally… A picture of the Bac Ha market, near Sapa. The colours of the minorities, the market… Glorious.

So you have it, our top 10. What do you think? Do you like it? If you had to make a top 10 of your favorite moments in 2013 what would it be?

One response to “2013 in 10 pictures

  1. Ooh love the first picture, so pretty! Looks like a fun year and can’t wait to go to Vietnam to experience it all! Happy New year and congratulations!

Leave a Reply

